Soo Yeon Lyuh


Composition 1: Yessori (2017)

Full Score PDF

(Start at pg 1 m. 4 for sample)

Full Video Example

(Start at 0:40 for sample)


Commissioned by Kronos Quartet

Composition 2: Dudŭrim (2019)

Full Score PDF

(Start at pg 20 m. 77 for sample)

Full Video Example 

(Start at 4:00 for sample)

Commissioned for 2019 Bang on a Can Summer Music Festival by Elizabeth and Justus Schlichting

Composition 3: Bomsori (2019)

Full Score PDF

Commissioned by The Pacific Boychoir Academy


The Pacific Boychoir Academy

Sagye - I. Bomsori
00:00 / 02:46

Free Improvisation (2019)

Free Improvisation (excerpt) - Quintet
00:00 / 09:31

An ensemble improvisation that frames the traditional sounds and musical language of the Korean Haegeum with free improvisation and intuitive music.


Soo Yeon Lyuh - haegeum

Lisa Mezzacappa - double bass

Danielle DeGruttola - cello

Henry Kaiser - guitar

Nava Dunkelman - percussion

Published Articles
"Transition in Performance: The Role of Bongjangchwi in Contemporary Sanjo.
Perspectives on Korean Music vol. 2 (fall 2011): 11-28.

© 2023 by Sunshine Lab. Proudly created with

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon